Faculty and Staff - Department of Sociology and Anthropology Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - Sociology and Anthropology

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our department!
Fall 2013 SOAN faculty group shot
Karen Austin
Administrative Assistant
411-412 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7543
kfaustin@colgate.edu

Tony Aveni
Russell Colgate Distinguished University Professor of Astronomy and Anthropology and Native American Studies
410 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7214
aaveni@colgate.edu

Janel Benson
Associate Professor of Sociology
425 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6095
jbenson@colgate.edu

Michelle Bigenho
Professor of Anthropology and Africana & Latin American Studies
428 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7030
mbigenho@colgate.edu

Nigel Bolland
Charles A. Dana Professor of Sociology and Caribbean Studies, Emeritus
nbolland@colgate.edu

Kristin De Lucia
Assistant Professor
Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6279
kdelucia@colgate.edu

Tom Hall
Research Affiliate in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology
P: 315-228-7543
tdhall@colgate.edu

Chris Henke
Associate Professor of Sociology; Director of the Upstate Institute
419 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7076
chenke@colgate.edu

Carolyn Hsu
Associate Professor of Sociology
408 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7083
chsu@colgate.edu

Jonathan Hyslop
Professor of Sociology and Africana & Latin American Studies; Director, Peace & Conflict Studies Program
414 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6043
jhyslop@colgate.edu

Santiago Juarez
Assistant Professor
Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7551
sjuarez@colgate.edu

Jordan Kerber
Professor of Anthropology and Native American Studies
421 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7559
jkerber@colgate.edu

Rhonda F. Levine
Professor of Sociology
410 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7532
rlevine@colgate.edu

Meika Loe
Professor of Sociology and Women's Studies; Director, Women's Studies Program
117 B East Hall
P: 315-228-7077
mloe@colgate.edu

Paul Lopes
Associate Professor of Sociology; Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
416 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7553
plopes@colgate.edu

Allan Maca
Research Affiliate
411-412 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7543
amaca@colgate.edu

Mary Moran
Professor of Anthropology and Africana & Latin American Studies
417 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7548
mmoran@colgate.edu

Lavinia Nicolae
Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology
409 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6295
lnicolae@colgate.edu

Nancy Ries
Christian A. Johnson Chair in Liberal Arts Studies; Professor of Anthropology and Peace & Conflict Studies; Director, Division of University Studies
407 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7552
nries@colgate.edu

Chandra Russo
Assistant Professor
Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6543
crusso@colgate.edu

Elana Shever
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
418 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7035
eshever@colgate.edu

Alicia Simmons
Assistant Professor of Sociology
422 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7990
asimmons@colgate.edu

Emilio Spadola
Associate Professor of Anthropology, Director, Middle Eastern & Islamic Studies Program
423 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6094
espadola@colgate.edu

Michael Taylor
Research Affiliate
P: 315-228-7545
mstaylor@colgate.edu

Jacqueline Villarrubia
Assistant Professor of Sociology
413 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6042
jvillarrubia@colgate.edu

Antonia Young
Research Associate in Sociology and Anthropology
ayoung@colgate.edu