Faculty and Staff - Department of Music - Colgate University Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - Music

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our department!
Richard (Rick) Balestra
Teacher of Guitar
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
rbalestra@colgate.edu

Elizabeth (Liz) Bouk
Teachers of Voice
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
ebouk@colgate.edu

Laura Campbell
Teacher of Flute; Orchestra Manager
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
lcampbell@colgate.edu

Glenn Cashman
Associate Professor of Music
224 Ryan Studio
P: 315-228-6688
gcashman@colgate.edu

Marietta Cheng
Professor of Music; Conductor of the Colgate University Orchestra; Chair of Music
206 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7637
mcheng@colgate.edu

Michael Cleveland
Teacher of Music; Concertmaster
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
mcleveland@colgate.edu

Richard Crawley
Teacher of Voice
P: 315-228-7645
rcrawley@colgate.edu

Murray Decock
Vice President of Institutional Advancement; Instructor in Piano
14 Utica Street - 3rd Floor
P: 315-228-7489
mdecock@colgate.edu

Gabriel DiMartino
Teacher of Trumpet
gdimartino@colgate.edu

Ralph Dudgeon
Teacher of Trumpet
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
rdudgeon@colgate.edu

Robert (Ryan) Endris
Assistant Professor of Music
106 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7647
rendris@colgate.edu

Joscelyn Godwin
Professor of Music
MO2 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7626
jgodwin@colgate.edu

Steven Heyman
Artist-in-Residence/Teacher of Piano
T15 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7044
sheyman@colgate.edu

James Johns
Teacher of Percussion
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
jjohns@colgate.edu

Lorraine Joseph
Administrative Assistant/Concert Coordinator
103 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7642
ljoseph@colgate.edu

Douglas (Doug) Keith
Jazz Accompanist
T15 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
dkeith@colgate.edu

Glenn Kime
University Organist, Teacher of Organ, Chorus Accompanist
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
gkime@colgate.edu

Laura Klugherz
Professor of Music and Africana & Latin American Studies
104 James C. Colgate Hall
P: 315-228-7643
lklugherz@colgate.edu

Kerry Koen
Teacher of Piano/Staff Accompanist
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
kkoen@colgate.edu

Theresa (Terry) Martens
Teachers of Music/Retainers
James C. Colgate Hall
tmartens@colgate.edu

Camilo Martinez
Administrative Assistant
103 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
cmartinez@colgate.edu

Richard (Rick) Montalbano
Teacher of Jazz Piano
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
rmontalbano@colgate.edu

Neva Pilgrim
Teacher of Voice; Artist-in-Residence
124 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
npilgrim@colgate.edu

Darryl Pugh
Teacher of String Bass
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
dpugh@colgate.edu

Barbara Rabin
Teacher of Clarinet
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
brabin@colgate.edu

Patricia (Pat) Sharpe
Casual Wage-Music Lesson Fees
Charles Dana Arts Center
psharpe@colgate.edu

Peter (Pete) Steele
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
Charles Dana Arts Center
psteele@colgate.edu

Jeffrey (Jeff) Stockham
Teacher of Jazz Trumpet
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
jstockham@colgate.edu

Joseph P. Swain
Associate Professor of Music
105 Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7644
jswain@colgate.edu

Zachary (Zach) Sweet
Teacher of Cello
Charles Dana Arts Center
zsweet@colgate.edu

Norman Thibodeau
Teacher of Flute
Charles Dana Arts Center
nthibodeau@colgate.edu

David (Dave) Unland
Teacher of Low Brass
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
dunland@colgate.edu

Heather Wagner
Teacher of Bassoon
Charles Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-7645
hwagner@colgate.edu

Tian (Zhou) Zhou
Assistant Professor of Music
104 Dana Arts Center
P: 315-228-6708
tzhou@colgate.edu

Performance Faculty

Richard Balestra, Teacher of Guitar
He has performed in many different jazz, commercial, and classical settings and is a member of the group "Spaces." He is also on the faculty at SUNY Oswego and Hamilton College, he coordinates a jazz guitar festival in Oswego, and he coaches the rhythm section of the "315 All-Stars," a hand-picked group of high school jazz students from the Syracuse area. BA, Syracuse University; MM, Ithaca College.

Laura Campbell, Instructor of Flute
She has performed as a member of the St. Louis Municipal Opera Orchestra, the Springfield (IL) Symphony, the Gateway Festival Orchestra (St. Louis), Ithaca Opera Orchestra, and SATI: A Group for Contemporary Music. She has also been a soloist at the Composers' Forum in New York City. She is the Manager and Principal Flute in the Colgate University Orchestra. BA, Ithaca College; BM, MS, University of Illinois.

Michael Cleveland, Teacher of Violin
He is also Concertmaster of the Colgate University Orchestra and a member of the Glimmerglass Opera Orchestra. He is currently orchestra director for the Whitesboro Middle and High School Orchestras, and has been guest conductor for 20 All-County and Area All-State Music Festivals. Bachelor's in Music Education, Ithaca College.

Murray Decock '80
His doctoral dissertation, The Piano Sonatas of Sophie-Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatte was published by the Eckhardt-Gramatte Foundation, based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. At Colgate, Murray served as the accompanist and assistant conductor to the Colgate University Chorus from 1987 until 1994. He accompanied the Colgate Chorus on two tours of Europe, performing on the piano and organ in the churches and cathedrals of Venice, Milan, Paris, Salzburg, and Vienna, as well as St. Peter's Basilica in Vatican City. He also performed as soloist with several regional and college orchestras throughout the northeast and mid-Atlantic, including several appearances with the Colgate University Concert Orchestra. BA, Colgate; Master's in piano performance, Indiana University School of Music; Doctorate of Musical Arts in Piano Performance, University of Maryland.

Ralph Dudgeon, Teacher of Trumpet
He is a versatile musician/scholar who is known for historically informed performance on period instruments as well as performances of contemporary repertoire. He has appeared throughout the United States, Europe, Canada, and Mexico as a trumpet soloist and conductor. His debut solo album, Music for Keyed Bugle, was the first full-length recording devoted to the keyed bugle. He has recorded for Musical Heritage Society, Music Masters, Newport Classic, Nimbus, Hyperion, Innova, and Spring Tree labels. He is a Professor of Music at State University of New York, College at Cortland. PhD in musicology, University of California, San Diego; MA in trumpet and BA in music education, San Diego State University.

Steven Heyman, Artist-in-Residence, Piano
He has won top prizes in over a dozen national and international competitions, including the Beethoven in Vienna, the Gina Bachauer in Salt Lake City, and the Palm Beach Invitational in Palm Beach. He has recordings on the Opus One and Leonarda labels. He also serves on the faculties at Syracuse University and Hamilton College. He has performed for several years with the Chenango Summer MusicFest. He holds Bachelor's, MM, and Professional Studies degrees from the Juilliard School. teaches music history and trumpet. He is also Teacher of Trumpet and Principal Trumpet in the Orchestra at Colgate University. For two months a year, he is a research consultant for Instrumentenmuseum, Schloß Kremsegg in Kremsmünster, Upper Austria and performs annually in Europe.

James "Jimmy" Johns, Teacher of Drum Set
He has an extensive background in various venues. He has performed with such noted jazz artists as Cedar Walton, Hank Jones, Stam Stewart, and Mose Allison, among others. He has recorded with The Dean Brothers, Bluegrass master musician Tony Trischka, and several others. Jimmy is also an accomplished vibraphonist and is as equally busy around central New York in that role. He has accompanied many national touring acts at the Turning Stone Casino.

Glenn Kime, Teacher of Organ and Accompanist for the choral ensembles
He is Director of Music for May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society, and Organist for Temple Adath Yeshurun in Syracuse. For many years, he was accompanist for the Syracuse Oratorio Society and the Syracuse Children’s Chorus. With the Children’s Chorus he performed many world premieres, and recorded and toured throughout the United States, Europe, Hong Kong, and mainland China. He has performed many solo organ recitals, including performances for the American Guild of Organists and the Organ Historical Society. He recorded French Romantic Organ Symphonies on the Raven label at Old First Church, San Francisco. He studied at Syracuse University, the University of Southern California, and privately in London and Cambridge, England, with Dame Gillian Weir.

Kerry Koen '74
She teaches piano at Colgate and is our foremost student accompanist. She is active in community performances and maintains her own studio in the village of Hamilton. Master's in Piano Performance, Syracuse University.

Rick Montalbano, Teacher of Jazz Piano
Montalbano is a talented composer and performer whose performance credits include a long list of well-known jazz artists. He currently runs the Music Factory Recording Studio in Rome, N.Y. Montalbano's original compositions have been heard in a variety of contexts -- from jazz trios to big band productions to radio commercials and film scores. In 1992, he released an album of his own compositions entitled "Kindred Spirits." He has performed with the likes of Chuck Mangione, Phil Woods, Grady Tate, Randy Brecker, Louie Bellson, Lionel Hampton, Don Menza, Clark Terry, Joe Mangarelli, J.T. Monterose, Nick Brignola, and Doc Cheatham and served as pianist/musical director for singer Lou Rawls for several years. Montalbano is the Entertainment Director/Pianist for the Savoy (Rome, N.Y.), where he created the Sunday Night "Jazz Cabaret Series" along with one of the area's most popular events, "Jazz Along the Mohawk," which features some of the country's finest jazz musicians and vocalists. The Rick Montalbano Trio served for many years as the "house" group at Tiny's, then the area's premier jazz club in Utica, backing up national and regional jazz greats. Montalbano also serves as the Associate Music Director for the Central New York Jazz Orchestra.

Neva Pilgrim, Artist-in-Residence, Voice
She has concertized throughout the United States, in Japan, Canada, and Europe; has soloed with such orchestras as the Chicago, Syracuse, Brooklyn, Clarion, and New York Philharmonic; and has performed over 25 operatic roles with companies in the United States and Europe. Pilgrim has appeared at festivals such as Marlboro, Tanglewood, Chautauqua, Ravinia, and the Saratoga Baroque Festival. She has recorded for CRI, Desto, Orion, Spectrum, and Musical Heritage, Master Musicians, Opus One, Leonarda, and other labels. As a founding member of the Syracuse Society for New Music, she was awarded the 1994 Laurel Leaf Award. Pilgrim has received numerous awards and grants for her performances and services to the field. BA, Hamline University; MM, Yale.

Darryl Pugh, Teacher of Bass [acoustic and electric]
He is principal bassist in the Colgate University Orchestra, and is also a member of the Syracuse Symphony. He has performed with Frank Moser Jr., Joe Magnarelli, the Central New York Jazz Orchestra and many others. His unique abilities to teach both jazz and classical techniques make him a double-threat. Bachelor's in music, Berklee College of Music; Master's in jazz performance, Eastman School of Music.

Barbara Rabin, Teacher of Clarinet
She is principal clarinet in the Colgate University Orchestra and performs often throughout New York as a soloist and chamber artist, including performances with the New York Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra, the Syracuse Symphony, the Society for New Music, and at the Skaneateles Festival. She also teaches at Hamilton College. BA, Wellesley College; MA, Wesleyan University.

Jeff Stockham, Trumpeter/Hornist
He is a graduate of the Eastman School of Music and a veteran of the renowned Eastman Jazz Ensemble. His performance credits include the Central New York Jazz Orchestra, Salt City Jazz Collective, JazzBone, Gap Mangione, Danny D'Imperio's Big Band Bloviation, the Syracuse Symphony, the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, and many others. He is also one of the few musicians worldwide to play jazz on French horn. He is trumpeter and French hornist in Thelonius Monk Jr.'s "Monk on Monk" big band, with which he toured Europe, Israel, and the United States several times.