Zhou Tian - Colgate University - Faculty Directory

Colgate Directory


Zhou Tian

Assistant Professor of Music
Music, 104 Dana Arts Center
p 315-228-6708


B.M. The Curtis Institute of Music, 2005
M.M. The Juilliard School, 2007
D.M.A. University of Southern California, 2011


Composition, Digital Music Production

Professional Experience

Major Performances of Original Compositions

  • The Cincinnati Symphony (2013)
  • The Houston Symphony (2011)
  • The Indianapolis Symphony (2011)
  • Hong Kong Philharmonic (2011)
  • The Pittsburgh Symphony (2008)
  • The Minnesota Orchestra (2007, 2006)
  • Performances at National Centre for the Performing Arts, Beijing, China (2012, 2010)
  • Carnegie Hall, Zankel Hall, New York (2009)
  • Carnegie Hall, Weill Recital Hall, New York (2009, 2006)
  • Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Washington, DC (2009)
  • Usedomer Musikfestival, Germany (2008)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, New York (2007, 2005)
  • Aspen Music Festival, CO (2005)
  • Ecoles d'Art Américaines de Fontainebleau, France (2004, 10, 11)
  • Tanglewood Festival Chorus at Seiji Ozawa Hall (2002)
Recent Performances:
  • Princeton Symphony Orchestra
  • Reno Philharmonic
  • Hawaii Symphony Orchestra
  • Spokane Symphony
  • Winston-Salem Symphony
  • Curtis On Tour (12 American cities): Jason Vieaux, guitar; Roberto Díaz, viola; Soovin Kim, violin, etc.
  • Great Wall Quartet (Taipei, Macau, Beijing)
  • Curtis On Tour - China (Shanghai, Tianjin); Latin America (Costa Rica, Mexico, Brazil)
  • The Grand Air Trio (Amsterdam; 6th International Joseph Joachim Chamber Music Competition, Weimar)
  • Dover Quartet
  • The Empire Brass
  • The Eroica Trio
  • Composer-in-Residence, Green Bay Symphony Orchestra. Green Bay, WI (2009-10)
  • Composer-in-Residence, Music In the Loft Concert Series. Chicago, IL (2007-08)


Red Trees, Wrinkled Cliffs on PBS "On Stage at Curtis Institute"


Feb 14, 2015

Asheville Symphony Orchestra
Daniel Meyer, conductor

ZHOU: A Thousand Years of Good Prayers
BARTOK: Piano Concerto No. 3 (Jeremy Denk)
DVORÁK: Symphony No. 8 
Asheville, NC

Apr 7, 9, 10, 2015

Atlantic Classical Orchestra
Stewart Robertson, conductor

A MCKENZIE: Benedictus
ZHOU: Violin Concerto (Caroline GouldingWorld Premiere
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 7 
Fort Pierce, FL

Mar 29, 2015

New York Society for New Music Presents:

ZHOU: Morning after the Deluge 
Colgate University

Apr 12, 2015

Dolce Suono Ensemble Presents

Mimi Stillman, flute
Dover Quartet

New Work (World Premiere) 

Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, PA


  • CD “Broken Ink: Symphonic Suite Inspired by the Poetry of the Sung Dynasty” (Pacific Records, 2012)
  • CD “The Great Wall Quartet” (Archimusic, 2012) 
  • CD “Odyssey: 11 American Premieres for Flute and Piano” (Innova, 2011)
  • CD/Blu-Spec CD “String Poetic: Chinese Folk Tunes On Cello” (Pacific, 2011)
  • CD “Billy Collins Suite” (Cedille, 2009)
  • CD “Symphonic Suite: The Grand Canal” (Pacific, 2009) 
  • DVD, CD “Eternal Beloved - Original Score from the Motion Picture” (Steller Mega Films/China Film Group, 2009)
  • DVD, CD “the Henry Mancini Institute – Free Music Festival” (Henry Mancini Institute, 2006)
  • CD “2001/2002 Season selections from The Curtis Institute of Music” (Curtis Institute, 2002)

Teaching Experience

Adjunct Instructor in Music, University of Southern California (2007-2011)

Composition Masterclass: 
  • Syracuse University (2013)
  • University of Nevada, Reno (2012)
  • The Curtis Institute of Music (2012)



  • Nominated for Best Classical Album, Best Album Producer, and Best Instrumental Performance (won), 24th Taiwan Golden Melody Awards (2013)
  • Excellence Award, 16th National Music Award, The Ministry of Culture of P.R.China (2012)
  • The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra Glick Award (2011)
  • First Prize, Washington International Composition Competition (2009)
  • First Prize, ASCAP and Lotte Lehmann Foundation Art Song Competition (2009)
  • 100 Important Audio and Video Publications of 2009, General Administration of Press and Publication of China
  • Symphonic Suite The Grand Canal performed during a nationally televised celebration of the 60th anniversary of the founding of the People’s Republic of China (2009). Theme at 2010 Shanghai World Expo. 
  • Symphony in C Composers Awards (2008)
  • ASCAP/Morton Gould Young Composer Awards (2004, 05, 07)
  • Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute (2006)
  • Composition Fellowship, Aspen Music Festival (2005)
  • American Composers Orchestra Underwood New Music Readings (2005)
  • Presser Music Award (2004)
  • Composition Fellowship, Fontainebleau Music Festival, France (2004)
  • Composition Fellowship, Tanglewood Music Center (2002)


Member, The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)

Website: www.ZhouTianMusic.com