Major Religious Holidays and Celebrations Skip Navigation

Days of Religious Significance

Dates marked in bold are recognized by Colgate as “major religious holidays.” The other dates are listed for your reference. All dates are for the 2013–2014 academic year.

Holidays and Classes

In some cases, religious holidays and the academic calendar may come into conflict with one another. To be respectful of the beliefs of everyone in the Colgate community, a policy for these situations is outlined in the student handbook.

Read the policy
In order that no students suffer academic penalty because of their conscientious observance of major religious holidays, it is important that faculty members follow a uniform policy regarding such observance.

It is reasonable to consider major religious holidays for the Colgate student body as a whole to the following: Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Passover, Good Friday, and Easter. Quizzes or exams should not be scheduled and papers in courses should not be due on any of these holidays or on the next class session falling after any of these holidays. In addition, every effort will be made not to schedule major university events on these days.

Please also note that Muslim students will observe the festival of Ramadan and may need special consideration relating to fasting and breaking the fast.

Students whose conscientious religious practices require that they observe religious holidays in addition to those named above can make use of the following procedure: prior to the holiday, they may obtain a letter from the appropriate religious adviser affirming their intention to observe the holiday. If such notification is delivered to the course instructor before the holiday, the student's absence on the holiday will be regarded as an authorized one; and the student will be excused from quizzes and exams both for that day and for the next class session (at which his or her attendance may again be expected). Under these circumstances, the student will be permitted to take a make-up exam without penalty.

A similar option exists with respect to papers: if proper notification is delivered to the course instructor before the holiday, the student will be excused from submitting a paper due on that holiday, and from submitting it at the next class session after the holiday (at which his or her attendance may again be expected).

Get Educated!

Want to learn more about any of the holidays below? Consider enrolling in a course with the religion department. Or check out a collection of religion encyclopedias available to students, faculty, and staff on campus through the library's website. LEARN MORE

Fall 2013

Monday, July 8 (Sundown)
Ramadan*
Saturday, August 3
Lailatul Qadr *
Wednesday, August 7
Eid al Fitr (end of Ramadan) *
Wednesday, September 4 (Sundown)
Rosh Hashanah Begins
Friday, September 6 (Sundown)
Rosh Hashanah Ends
Friday, September 13 (Sundown)
Yom Kippur begins (Kol Nidre)
Saturday, September 14 (Sundown)
Yom Kippur ends
Wednesday, September 18 (Sundown)
Sukkot
Thursday, September 26 (Sundown)
Simchat Torah Begins
Friday, September 27 (Sundown)
Simchat Torah Ends
Monday, October 14 (Sundown)
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, November 3
Diwali (Hindu Festival of Lights)
Sunday, December 1
First Sunday in Advent
Wednesday, November 27 (Sundown)
Chanukah Begins
Thursday, December 5
Chanukah Ends
Wednesday, December 25
Christmas

Spring 2014

Wednesday, March 5
Ash Wednesday
Saturday, March 15 (Sundown)
Purim Begins/ Holi*
Sunday, March 16 (Sundown)
Purim Ends
Sunday, April 13
Palm Sunday / Holy Week begins
Monday, April 14 (Sundown)
First night of Passover
Tuesday, April 15
Second night of Passover
Thursday, April 17
Maundy Thursday / Holy Thursday
Friday, April 18
Good Friday (Catholic and Protestant)
Sunday, April 20
Easter Sunday
Monday, April 21
Easter Monday
Tuesday, April 22 (sundown)
Passover ends
Sunday, April 27
Yom HaSho'ah (Holocaust Memorial Day)

* Regional customs, group preference or moon sightings may cause a variation of this date.