Alumni Awards Skip Navigation

Alumni Awards

Honoring extraordinary service among Colgate alumni and friends.
The Alumni Council has established annual awards to recognize and reward exemplary service to the university.
Wm. Brian Little ’64 Award For Distinguished Service To Colgate
First established in 1937, this is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Council. It recognizes Colgate alumni/ae who have rendered distinguished service to the college and have previously received the Maroon Citation. Mere prominence is not the criterion; rather, the award recognizes those who have worked, over a number of years, with marked intelligence and success to promote the highest interests of the college.

2016 recipients:
  • Robert H.N. Ho ’56
  • Todd C. Brown ’71
  • Mark D. Nozette ’71
  • Edward D. Werner ’71
  • Brion Applegate ’76
  • Barry J. Small ’76
Colgate Alumni Corporation Distinguished Teaching Award
Established in 1981 and first awarded in 1983, this award recognizes, on behalf of all Colgate alumni, outstanding teachers at the university. The award is given to up to two (2) tenured members of the Colgate University faculty who exemplify the qualities possessed by the late Professor David Stern (Political Science).

2016 recipients:
Colgate Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award
Established in 2003, the purpose of this award is to honor Colgate alumni/ae who have devoted themselves to improving the lives of individuals and communities. This award also recognizes Jane Lagoudis Pinchin, distinguished member of the faculty, Dean and Provost, and Interim President of Colgate 2001-2002, who in both her personal life and professional career has worked with intelligence, warmth, and energy for the benefit of communities. The Colgate Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award honors someone who is unusually committed to helping others and who, by choice of career or other significant commitment of time and energy, exemplifies all that Colgate seeks to inspire in its students by way of devotion to community.

2016 recipient:
  • Brendan Tuohey ’96
Ann Yao ’80 Memorial Young Alumni Award
This award was established in 1992 to honor and recognize up to three (3) alumni who have demonstrated remarkable and meritorious service to Colgate since graduation and who exemplify the qualities possessed by the late Ann Yao '80. These qualities include volunteer work at the District Alumni Club level and/or in Alumni Admissions work and/or in class fund-raising efforts. This award is not based on service while an undergraduate. Eligible candidates are members of the fifth Reunion Class.

2016 recipients:
  • Allyson Poulos ’11
  • Chris P. Vogelsang ’11
Maroon Citation
The citation was established in 1955 in grateful recognition of significant and invaluable personal contributions to Colgate University. A record of service, rather than a single act or achievement, is the criterion for selection. Although primarily an honor to be bestowed on Colgate alumni/ae (up to 13 annually), the Maroon Citation may also be awarded to up to three (3) non-alumni employees of the University or members of the Society of Families whose service to the institution meets the requirements.

2016 recipients:
  • Art Stenari ’56
  • Tom Carlson ’66
  • Jim Eppolito ’66
  • Robert Aberlin ’66
  • Leroy Cody ’71
  • Robert Glendening ’71
  • Pat Apelian ’76
  • Harry Horwitz ’76
  • Gretchen Burke ’81
  • Rob Fawcett ’91
  • Alvin Glymph ’91
  • Yvonne Gyimah ’01
  • Katie Roberts ’01
  • Dorrie Ackerman ’81, Senior Regional Advancement Director
  • Dan Hunt, Head Football Coach
  • Amy Montroy, Data Coordinator