Faculty and Staff - Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff – The Program in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our program!
Nady Abdal-Ghaffar
Senior Lecturer of Arabic
311 Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-6593
nabdalghaffar@colgate.edu

Ahmet Ay
Assistant Professor of Biology and Mathematics
206 Olin Hall
P: 315-228-6176
aay@colgate.edu

Jyoti Balachandran
Assistant Professor of History
313 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7085
jbalachandran@colgate.edu

Shawkat (Shaw) Dallal
Professor of Arabic Studies Emeritus
P: 315-228-7275
sdallal@colgate.edu

Anat Guez
Senior Lecturer in Hebrew
312A Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-6604
aguez@colgate.edu

Padma Kaimal
Professor of Art & Art History
308 Little Hall
P: 315-228-7057
pkaimal@colgate.edu

Noor-Aiman (Noor) Khan
Associate Professor in History
309 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7556
nikhan@colgate.edu

Daniel (Dan) Monk
George R. and Myra T. Cooley Professor of Peace & Conflict Studies and Professor of Geography
310 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7945
dmonk@colgate.edu

Jacob Mundy
Assistant Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies
222 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6182
jmundy@colgate.edu

Navine Murshid
Assistant Professor of Political Science
139 Persson Hall
P: 315-228-6626
nmurshid@colgate.edu

Aisha Musa
Assistant Professor of Religion and Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies
313 Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-6621
amusa@colgate.edu

Bruce Rutherford
Associate Professor of Political Science; Director, Middle Eastern & Islamic Civilization Studies
121 Persson Hall
P: 315-228-7754
brutherford@colgate.edu

Nicole Schmidt
Administrative Assistant
111 Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7546
nschmidt@colgate.edu

Emilio Spadola
Associate Professor of Anthropology
423 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6094
espadola@colgate.edu

Aaron Spevack
Assistant Professor of Religion
309B Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-6384
aspevack@colgate.edu