Faculty and Staff - Asian Studies - Colgate University Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - Asian Studies

Our faculty are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our program!
Yoichi Aizawa
Professor of Japanese
9A Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7282
yaizawa@colgate.edu

Jyoti Balachandran
Assistant Professor of History
313 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7085
jbalachandran@colgate.edu

Gloria Bien
Professor of Chinese
102 Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7731
gbien@colgate.edu

Benjamin (Ben) Child
Assistant Professor of English
Lathrop Hall
bchild@colgate.edu

John A. (John) Crespi
Luce Associate Professor of Chinese; Director of Asian Studies
9C Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7092
jcrespi@colgate.edu

Yukari Hirata
Associate Professor of Japanese
9B Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7720
yhirata@colgate.edu

Carolyn Hsu
Associate Professor of Sociology
408 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7083
chsu@colgate.edu

Eliza Kent
Professor of Religion
301D Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7688
ekent@colgate.edu

John Palmer
Associate Professor of Educational Studies
14 Persson Hall
P: 315-228-7291
jpalmer@colgate.edu

Letta Palmer
Administrative Assistant
120B East Hall
P: 315-228-6868
lpalmer@colgate.edu

David Robinson
Robert H.N. Ho Professor in Asian Studies, Professor of History
315 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7512
drobinson@colgate.edu

Andrew (Andy) Rotter
Charles A. Dana Professor of History; Director of the Peace & Conflict Studies Program
319 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7513
arotter@colgate.edu

Jing Wang
Associate Professor of Chinese, Chair of EALL
104A Lawrence Hall
P: 315-228-7280
jwang@colgate.edu

Daisaku (Dai) Yamamoto
Associate Professor of Geography and Asian Studies
309 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-6165
dyamamoto@colgate.edu